Mercurial: First Impressions

October 31, 2007 at 9:06 pm 1 comment

I decided to make the switch to Mercurial from Subversion.

One of the first things I noticed is the speed difference. Mercurial, despite the name and the reputation of distributed SCMs, seems to be slightly (half second or less) slower than Subversion. (despite hg being nicer to type than svn 😉 )

The other thing I noticed is that Mercurial doesn’t ignore certain files by default. Backup files show up in the status listings and are added if you try to add a directory.

Another thing that bugs me is the way Mercurial handles adding files. First, it doesn’t seem to want to add empty directories. hg status isn’t as nice as svn, but I’m sure it’s just something I haven’t got the hang of yet.

The main thing I like about Mercurial is the configuration. Give me an rc file over a directory any day! 🙂

Entry filed under: Linux, Programming. Tags: , , , .

Absolute Bare Bones httpd.conf Mega Man X

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. www.titangelphilippines.com  |  December 27, 2016 at 10:22 pm

    Currently it sounds like BlogEngine is the preferred blogging platform out there right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


