Centralized VS. Distributed Version Control

August 24, 2007 at 6:53 pm 1 comment

I’ve been feeling a bit weird having my SVN repos hanging out on one partition and the checkout directory hanging out in $HOME. It just seems like a waste of space, and like a bit of overkill for my needs. While I was looking at different version control systems I stumbled across GNU Arch. (not the distro)

Unlike Subversion, GNU Arch has a distributed repository model. At first this method of version control seemed like a chaotic way of developing software, but the more I think about it the more I think it may be just what I’m looking for.

With distributed version control your working copy IS your repository. This sounds perfect for single person development. Another big plus for me is that this type of revision control seems better suited for offline development. Distributed version control systems tend to be speedier since they don’t have to contact a central repository for commits. (according to the websites for Git, and Mercurial)

Here’s some links if you want to learn more.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

Javascript Modal Windows What Matters to Me In a Document Format

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Olaf Marzocchi  |  November 1, 2007 at 4:30 am

    You are right, I thought the same when I tried svn some time ago. At that time I didn’t know about distributed VCS, but they are really a good choice if you are alone or if you work in small groups.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


