CLI for 30: Summary

June 24, 2007 at 6:38 am 1 comment

Yeah, I know there hasn’t been anything new since day 21, but it’s time to call it quits.

I learned a lot from this experience, the most important being that I didn’t plan at all. I should have spent more time deciding what I was going to do each day, as well as picking a more convenient time to start.

I discovered that most of a normal desktop user’s tasks can be done without X running. You can type, listen to music, surf the Internet (even with graphics), watch videos (and not just the ASCII ones!), and even run multiple applications at the same time.

If you want to live at the command line many applications have steep learning curves to become a power user, so don’t expect to be instantly good with any program you use. Many CLI programs are also insanely configurable.

I think I may do something like this as an anual feature of this blog, so stick around for next year’s CLI for 30! I might even do some windows CLI only stuff 😀

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

CLI for 30: Day 21 MTP Blues

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sean  |  July 25, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Stumbled across this – great idea! What a great exercise for all levels of users.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


