CLI for 30: Day 21

June 17, 2007 at 9:10 pm Leave a comment

Most of today was spent reading about configuring mutt. My main concern is handling multiple email accounts and there SMTP servers. I know it’s done using hooks, but I’m not sure how I want to arrange my folders to begin with, so I’m not sure which hook I’ll want to use.

I also got an idea to use my email as my calendar. The basic concept is scheduling an echo command with cron for a specific day. Of course this only seems practical for reminders, not TODO lists and stuff.

I don’t think it would be too hard to write a calendaring app in bash. (Famous last words 😉 ) I think it might make a fun summer project. (not that I don’t have enough on my plate already) I also found two console calendaring apps. The first is calconsole. It claims to be like cal with scheduling. The second is celebrat, which is a very simple, non-interactive, text-mode calendar application.

I haven’t tried either of them yet, but I fully intend to sometime this week.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

CLI for 30: Day 15-20 CLI for 30: Summary

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


