CLI for 30: Day 15-20

June 16, 2007 at 8:45 pm Leave a comment

Boy I picked a horrible time to do this. School’s over now, but there’s still lots of work to get done around the house. I’ll have to try this again when I have some more time. (maybe a annual thing?)

Anyway, here’s what I’ve been doing for the past 5 days.

I discovered fbxine comes with Slackware in the xine-ui package. This is great! I really didn’t want to resort to installing Mplayer. It’s always buggy when I use it (sometimes even enough to lock the computer) and it doesn’t handle some of the commentaries on my DVD’s correctly. It also doesn’t give track titles or show in the menu which is a pain to find the episode I want to watch. (maybe it’s missing a lib) I hate apps that use more than one window too.

fbxine is  the framebuffer interface for the XINE engine. It’s the only XINE framebuffer front-end I could get to work. (Oxine is the only one I can remember off the top of my head, and it locked up the computer.)

When playing an audio file fbxine works just like any other audio player, except it doesn’t display tags and you get xine keyboard bindings. Video plays in full screen and doesn’t allow the use of other consoles (I think) The color was OK, and so was performance. It could probably be better with some tweaking, but I’m horrible with video stuff. fbxine looks really promising to make a “DVD player” Linux distribution sort of like HP’s quick play, but without X and (hopefully) more efficient battery usage.

I also learned that the internal playlist file format for gxine is the same as Window Media Player. (ASX).

Today I sent my first email with mutt. Sendmail is evil! Well, mainly it’s a pain to configure. 😉 Thank goodness there’s something almost as easy to configure as getmail. Putmail complements getmail nicely. The config file syntax is similar, both are written in python, and putmail doesn’t need to be run as a daemon (or as root!) like sendmail does. To use it with mutt just add `set sendmail=”/path/to/putmail.py”` to your ~/.muttrc.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

CLI for 30: Day 14 CLI for 30: Day 21

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


