CLI for 30: Day 14

June 10, 2007 at 8:54 pm Leave a comment

I’m working on a rewrite of my 3d-desktop howto on the slackware blog for a new website I’m working on. (which will hopefully be ready to go public this summer)

I thought now would be a good time to try some of the many document markup languages that *nix is famous for. I’ve tried LaTeX in the past which was nice, but it seemed more suited for books than simple tutorials. I didn’t find groff very readable from my experience writing man pages, so I decided to give docbook a try.

I really liked it except for a few quirks. My first problem with it was that it was not a “pure” XML format. There looks like there is an attempt to “purify” it, but it is still more SGML than XML.

The standard also seems slapt together to me too. (on first impression) Still, it looks like it’s the closest to what I need, but it’s cetainly not the only option.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , .

CLI for 30: Day 13 CLI for 30: Day 15-20

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


