CLI for 30: Day 4

June 1, 2007 at 9:18 pm Leave a comment

Well, I didn’t get too much done today. I’ve mostly been playing with my .vimrc file. I tried to get the current line to be highlighted, but I never got it to work quite right. With CurrentLine highlighting enabled the current line of text would have the same color, but the rest would have syntax correctly colored. I decided I didn’t need it after all and started working to turn my status bar into a stoplight 😉

Now whenever I’m in command mode the status bar is red. I guess I was going for “STOP! Can’t type in this mode!” 😛 Going into insert mode makes it turn green. I wanted to make visual or replace mode turn the status bar yellow, but I haven’t figured out how yet. This is based on vim tip number 1287 if you wan’t to have a look for yourself.

I also tried messing around with getmail again. I kept getting an error about the files that keep track of recieved mail not having section headers. I couldn’t find anything in the docs about them needing headers (plus they’re auto generated) so I guess I’ll just have to live with it for now. Everything works fine, but the errors clutter the output.

Oh, and I think finally got the hang of screen basics now.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

CLI for 30: Day 3 CLI for 30: Day 5

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


