CLI For 30: Day 2

May 30, 2007 at 8:20 pm Leave a comment

Today I’ve been playing with screen. It’s great!

The thing that probably scared me from using it before was having different windows “lock up” on me irrecoverable (or so I thought) at random intervals. I’d wind up having to kill screen and starting over. As it turns out I’ve been pressing C-a ^S accidently which turns flow control off (xoff). Pressing C-a ^Q fixes the problem.

My only real problem with screen (now that I found why it was getting locked up) is being able to have verticle splits so I can have centericq and weechat open in the same row. There is a patch to enable this, but I’m not quite ready to recompile a working package for only a minor complaint.

Oh, just a word of warning… detached screen sessions don’t stay after restarting. I figured this would be the case, but it was worth a shot.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , , .

CLI for 30: Day 1 CLI for 30: Day 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


