Wired NIC Slowing You Down?

March 24, 2007 at 7:58 pm 1 comment

This has been one of my biggest Slackware annoyances but I finally found a solution.

I have a laptop with 2 NICs. (wifi/wired) I normally use the wireless NIC unless I’ve been too lazy to update /etc/rc.d/rc.wireless.conf with the WEP key. This fact doesn’t stop Slackware from trying to get an address for the wired (eth0) NIC. This freezes the boot for at least 30 seconds, which is really annoying for a guy that likes to restart a lot.

To fix the problem add the DHCP_TIMOUT[0]="0" to /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1.conf. eth0 should now not be loaded at boot. If you need to use eth0 later you will need to call dhcpcd manually to get an address.

–edit–

I may have been wrong about this one. Try just getting rid “yes” from the USE_DHCP[0]="yes" line.

Entry filed under: Hardware. Tags: , , , .

Debuggers Watch Any Video in ASCII

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tom B  |  May 29, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    USE_DHCP[0]=”no” works for me!
    But now my problem is the Wi-Fi not being found on boot (I travel around too much). I’d like to background the process… Maybe it’s time for some init-ng slackware-current love…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


