My New Desktop

February 3, 2007 at 11:47 pm 3 comments

I’m not too fond of the way Xfce is moving, so I decided to create my own Desktop Enviorment with pre-existing components. (screenshot coming soon!) So what exactly makes a desktop enviorment? 

  • window manager – oroborus (ancestor of Xfwm4 😉 )
  • panel/launcher – fbpanel (until I find something better)
  • workspace manager/virtual desktops
  • task switcher – skippy, maybe whaw (I want something for alt+tab too)
  • root menu – deskmenu
  • keybindings – keylaunch
  • desktop – xfdesktop (if I have to)
  • theme (gtk/wm) – gtk-chtheme
  • taskbar (might be handled by panel)
  • system tray
  • run dialog – xfrun4 (if I have to)
  • extra apps: conky

If I’m missing something I really like to know.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , .

Slackware from Scratch Where the Slackware Package Manager Fails

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Antoine  |  February 14, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    There is already a similar project: LXDE:

    http://lxde.sourceforge.net

    It’s modular and you can also use oroborus with it, instead of IceWM. lxpanel is based in fbpanel.

    Reply
  • 2. dosnlinux  |  February 15, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    Thanks fore the tip. I’ll have to check it out.

    Reply
  • 3. Sy Ali  |  March 5, 2007 at 3:35 am

    I’ve been playing around with Blackbox [1] recently, and the only add-ons I need are bbkeys, fbpanel and gmrun.

    Things are nice and light. I don’t bother with a desktop, menu or most other toys.

    [1] http://jrandomhacker.info/PCLinuxOS_and_Blackbox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


