Xubuntu ACPI

January 17, 2007 at 1:57 am Leave a comment

Maybe the saying is true that “Ubuntu is an African word meaning I can’t configure _________” 😉 (actually, from what I’ve seen it’s a case of I could configure ________, but Ubuntu already works so why waste my time)

I messed up my Slackware install, and haven’t had a chance to remake my configuration packages yet, and because of some school work I’ll be stuck with Xubuntu at least for a little while. I’m taking my spare time to see how the Xubuntu people have ACPI configured. I’ve never been completely happy with the way I had Slackware’s ACPI system configured, and since ACPI isn’t really well documented I’m taking what I can and adapting it as needed.

Sometimes the best documentation is a working example. 😉

Here’s what I’ve learned so far:

The key packages (after a quick peek at synaptics) for Xubuntu’s ACPI system are

  • acpid – ACPI deamon along with 1 or 2 configs
  • acpi-support – supplies most of the scripts found in /etc/acpi/events (I’ll spend most of my time with this one)
  • powermgmt-base – some detection scripts
  • laptop-mode-tool
  • laptop-detect

Hopefully I’ll have better luck with this than with SUSE 😛

Entry filed under: Hardware. Tags: , , , , , , .

Xubuntu Xubuntu/Slackware ACPI: part 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


