Oh No! It’s all been (Un)Deleted!!!

January 1, 2007 at 11:34 pm Leave a comment

Some how I managed to accidentally delete everything on my flash drive. After the immediate shock I made an image of the flash drive using dd and “grepped” the image for evidence that anything was salvageable. I then began looking for either a vfat undelete utillity or a Data Forensics Linux Distribution. I found Helix Linux. (http://www.e-fense.com/helix/) It was just what I was looking for! The distro was very well documented and the deleted files were almost instantly recognized. I used the disk in Windows mode and used the acompanying file recovery tool. You can get weird file and folder names when doing whole directory trees, but if you recover 1 file at a time instead you get better results. Most files seemed to came out ok, but I’ve only looked at a couple of them.

This is one tool that I’m definatly going to have on me from now on!

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

So many -Options New SINP Logo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


