Customizing Slackware: Drives

December 22, 2006 at 3:50 am Leave a comment

Now that I have time off for Christmas, I decided to tweak my Slackware box just the way I want it. I decided to start with drives and mount points first that’s the first issue I come across after a fresh install. (outside of drivers of course 😉 )

/mnt vs /media

I finally learned the difference between /mnt and /media. Personally, I think everything should be mounted under /mnt, but the people who make the standards think otherwise. (I’m reluctantly starting to change my mind after reading the standard) /media was created as a place to store mount points for removable media. /mnt on the other hand has been traditionally used as a mount point for a single device that is only used temporarily, not sub-directories of /mnt. (stuff that’s mounted for a very brief period of time) The concept is still a little confusing, but the standard favors /media, so that’s what I plan on doing. 😉

To avoid the temptation of using /mnt remove all sub directories.
rmdir /mnt/*

Cleaning out /media

Slackware comes with several sub-dirs of /media which is nice, except if the extras get in the way of tab completion. I deleted every directory then created these:

  • floppy – in the rare event I do need to use my USB floppy drive (mainly QEMU related)
  • flash0 – first flash drive
  • flash1 – second flash drive
  • cdrom – Guess 😉
  • hd – temporarily mounted hard disk partition
  • smb – Windows shares

Editing /etc/fstab

Edit fstab to reflect the change. I left out entries for hd and smb, because they aren’t used for 1 specific device.
/dev/hda5 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hda1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom auto noauto,owner,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy vfat noauto,user,dmask=0022,fmask=0133 0 0
/dev/sda1 /media/flash0 vfat noauto,user,dmask=0022,fmask=0133 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /media/flash1 vfat noauto,user,dmask=0022,fmask=0133 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

Step 1 of customizing Slackware done.

Entry filed under: Hardware. Tags: , , , .

Windows 3.11 Slackware vs. Arch (installation)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


