Dragging out my 486

November 25, 2006 at 1:45 am Leave a comment

My last post led me to reading about freedos, which then led me to dragging out my very first computer. It was the only 486 left after the merciless scavenging of the other computers that I had to through out. (Man our neighbors must have been freaked out seeing 5 stripped computer cases piled up on the curb. I wished I’d taken some pictures 😉 )

It originally ran at 33MHz (with the turbo button down) and had 8MB RAM with a 270MB-ish hard drive. I thought Windows 3.11 was the coolest thing ever after only seeing ’95 before. After the scavenging it’s been upgraded to 66MHz and a whopping 40MB of RAM! Windows 95 almost runs at a tolerable speed now!

Good days… Good days.

My First Comp (close up) My first Computer

By the way, I didn’t a sepia filter on. It’s just really bad lighting. (Gives a nice effect though 😉 )

Entry filed under: Hardware, Windows. Tags: , .

What App Did that Come From? Tetris

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


