Firefox UI tweaking

November 24, 2006 at 11:14 pm Leave a comment

My ultimate goal was a keyboard drive UI

I got rid of the refresh button, because I really don’t need it. A page can be refreshed easy enough with F5 or CTRL+R. I also removed the search bar because I prefer to use the quick search bookmarks that come with a default installation of firefox. I never used the home button, plus there’s a shortcut key for it. (alt + home) I decided to keep the next and previous buttons even though they have shortcut keys. Sometimes I find myself needing the menu that drops down from them. I recently found the shortcut for the stop button, (esc) so I’m still kicking around if I want to keep it or not. The go button has been replaced with the progress indicator. The interface is beginning to look pretty bare. 😛

My biggest problem is contolling focus and navigating through links. Some sites don’t make proper use of tabindex so I can’t completely “say good-bye to the rodent.”

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , , .

KDE vs. Firefox What App Did that Come From?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


