A New Window Manager

November 22, 2006 at 3:31 am 2 comments

After spending some time on KDE recently I have firmly decided that I’m a GNOME person. This time around I noticed a couple of key differences between KDE and GNOME. The main one was that KDE felt more unified than GNOME, but this may stem from the fact that I don’t really use many “GNOME” apps. Despite the unified feel I really don’t like most apps made for KDE, which is why I like GNOME better. (not to mention the fact that I’m going to need a lot of GNOME libs installed for the apps I do use)

Since Freerock hasn’t released a version of GNOME for Slack 11 yet, I decided to look for a different window manager. I was looking for a window manager that was just a window manager that could be expanded using external tools. After searching I found a couple that fit that description, but they all were lacking in some area or another. Turns out Xfwm had what I was looking for all along. It has good keybinding support, and was “just a window manager.”

Xfce has just about everything I could ask for. Plus I found a cool new key binding out of the whole deal;) running xfdesktop -menu pops open the desktop menu next to the mouse. 🙂

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , .

Trying to Run Mechwarrior 4: Mercs with WINE A New Web Browser

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laosboyme  |  November 22, 2006 at 1:12 pm

    I would recommend GNOME for its stablness unlike KDE…..But what is XFWM? Is it part of XFCE?? I never heard of it

    Reply
  • 2. dosnlinux  |  November 22, 2006 at 3:03 pm

    Yes, Xfwm is the window manager for xfce. Just like Kwin is the wm for KDE and Metacity is the wm for GNOME. If you like Xfwm enough you can even use it with GNOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


