I’m in shock! Slackware does widescreen easy!

November 3, 2006 at 12:31 am Leave a comment

Today I’ve been smoothing out some of the wrinkles of getting my laptop’s hardware working with Slack. I finally managed to get my wireless card working using rc.wireless instead of calling iwconfig from a script directly. I’ve also been working to get ACPI working properly. (mainly suspend to ram and cpu scaling)

I was really shocked when it came time to getting X11 working. All I had to do was run xorgsetup, select the amount of colors I wanted and a new xorg.conf was created. The correct driver was used for my graphics card was selected instead of the default VESA driver, and widescreen worked without having to touch up the file manually! I ran one command and my quirky graphics card worked perfectly! Now if only 3D acceleration worked as well. :/

When I finished all my configuring I hope to get a Slackware on laptops tutorial on The Slackware Blog.

Entry filed under: Hardware. Tags: , , , .

Get IceWeasel #2 Nothing’s private in Python

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


