Slack 11 looks great but…

September 30, 2006 at 4:49 am 1 comment

I couldn’t wait any longer so I decided to do a clean install of slack current. The only problem I really had was that gcc gave an error durring setup, but installed fine using installpkg later. I was thrilled to find out that my troublesome i915 graphics card worked pretty much out of the box! (including widescreen and 3d acceleration) Despite this exciting news I started having issues with just about every other peice of hardware on my machine. When I’d power down or reboot I’d get a segmentation fault and an error complaining about nothing left at this runlevel. I also found out I couldn’t use my flash drives and my network cards. (wired and wireless)

It’s getting late, so I’ll have to debug the problems tomorrow. I imagine the problem lies somewhere with a bad install medium or hotplug. I’ll start by googling and see what info I can find, then hit up LQ or IRC if I can’t get anywhere.

Slackware has made great strides in hardware since 10.2, but my laptop has never really taken a shine to Linux.

… and just in case anyone’s wondering…

I’m using the huge26 kernel (which I gathered was the same as test26) with the modules installed from /extra.

– – – – – EDIT – – – – –

This Has been solved. Turns out it was a problem with the IRQs getting set. If you’re having this same problem add “acpi=noirq” to the “append=” line in lilo.conf

Entry filed under: Hardware. Tags: .

Web Site Shopping Slackware problem fixed!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


