Left Panel not as usable

August 23, 2006 at 1:28 pm Leave a comment

In GNOME I created a second panel to act as a quick launch bar for my frequently used apps. The main bar’s located at the top of the screen and I didn’t want to use the bottom, so only the left and right sides of the screen were left to put the new panel. Most of the time I see extra widgets like my quick launch bar placed on the right side of the screen, so I placed it there first. Then I decided to be different and use the left side of the screen. I noticed I had started to use it less and less, and when it was used it felt very akward. So now it’s back on the right side.

After reading through Designing Interfaces I wonder if the usabillity of the panel is related to english being read from left to right?

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , .

Finally, I have a reason to reinstall Windows! Learning LaTeX

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


