Missing Slackware

August 16, 2006 at 12:02 pm 2 comments

Who knew I was so sentimental about the Linux Distro I use. It’s almost like being homesick 😉 I miss knowing where all the config files are, or even being able to find them from support websites. SUSE stores it’s config files in non-standard prefixes (especially GDM) and I can’t find anything I’m looking for. I guess that’s because they want you to use YAST.

The main thing keeping me from going back to Slackware is hardware. I need a 2.6 version kernel, but the on that comes with Slack just won’t work for me. I can’t use USB flash drives with it, and no ipw2200 or i915 drivers. I’ve tried compiling the kernel, but I’ve had mixed success. I’m going to check on the net for specific options I need to compile in. Fortunately SUSE detects all my hardware, so I’ll try to see how it works and transfer settings over to Slackware as best I can.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

WordPress Theming Inferno OS

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tyler  |  August 16, 2006 at 6:43 pm

    I could always help you compile a 2.6 kernel for your box. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. dosnlinux  |  August 16, 2006 at 7:33 pm

    That would be great! 😀 Thank you very much. Any help you could give would be greatly appreciated 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


