CLI for 30: Day 1

May 29, 2007 at 3:40 pm Leave a comment

Fist off, I would like to say that I dislike having to surf the web on the command line. Mostly because of the small screen space. With the framebuffer enabled it’s not so bad, but I still am not real found of it.

My history teacher decided to have us look up propaganda posters for a project we’re doing. At first I wondered how I was going to do this since I’ve had trouble getting links working in graphics mode outside of X. I first tried links -g but got a permission error. I tried changing -driver to fb and everything worked ok. (the command I used was links -g fb) Google image search worked well enough to use and it wasn’t long before I found an interesting poster of Donald Duck throughing a tomato in Der Furher’s Face.

I’d been trying out weechat and centericq since yesterday. I think weechat has perminantly replaced Gaim/Pidgin for my chat client of choice, and centericq is close to replacing Gaim for AOL stuff.

Centericq is really fun to use. The sound effects are just noisy enough without being annoying or boring. The one thing I miss in centericq is being able to group buddies by catagory. I may not have found this option yet though.

Entry filed under: Linux. Tags: , , , , , , .

Playlists in ogg123 adn mpg321 CLI For 30: Day 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

